News Posts

RTÉ Choice Music Prize Live Event Line-up

Vicar St, Dublin – Thursday 8th March

The line-up for this year’s RTÉ Choice Music Prize live event, in association with IMRO & IRMA, was announced today on 2FM.

All ten Album of the Year nominees will perform on the night and they are:

Come On Live Long
Marlene Enright
James Vincent McMorrow
New Jackson
Fionn Regan

The winning album will be announced at the live event in March. Tickets are available at all Ticketmaster outlets and at priced €28.00 including booking fee.

The event will be hosted by RTÉ 2FM’s Eoghan McDermott broadcast live on 2FM in a special four-hour extended programme from 7-11pm. Highlights from the show will be broadcast as part of a special RTÉ Choice Music Prize TV programme, presented by Bláthnaid Treacy, on Saturday 17th March on RTÉ 2.

Live Photos: RTÉ Choice Music Prize Live Show

Some photos from the RTÉ Choice Music Prize live event at Vicar Street, Dublin on March 9th 2017.

Choice Covers

The good folks over at Totally Dublin have been running a lovely feature exploring the origins of the album cover artwork for all 10 RTÉ Choice Music Prize nominated albums. Want to know how many shots We Cut Corners had to choose from to get the right one? Where the photo on James Vincent McMorrow’s “We Move” cover was taken? Or ever wondered who the headless dancer is on Bantum’s Move? You’ll find out all of that plus loads more interesting insights into the artworks’ origins over at Totally Dublin. Click on each of the covers below to find out more…

International Delegates Attending Vicar Street, Dublin – Thursday 9th March

This year’s RTÉ Choice Music Prize, in association with IMRO & IRMA, will welcome ten international music industry delegates to the live event on Thursday 9th March, at Vicar St.

The targeted attendance of these influential professionals was coordinated by First Music Contact and Culture Ireland in an effort to increase the networking opportunities for the labels and management of the nominated artists.

Earlier that day the delegates will meet with representatives of the shortlisted acts at an event hosted by RTE Choice Music Prize and First Music Contact.

Attending the live event on Thursday 9th March are:

Sarah Besnard, ATC Live
Jason Edwards, Coda Agency
James Foley, Senor Editor Spotify
Natasha Haddad, Festival Republic
Bryan Johnson, Director Artist Services Spotify
Nick Robinson, Senior VP Kobalt
John Rostron ,Welsh Music Prize / SWN Festival
Huw Stephens, BBC Radio 1
Peter Thompson ,MD PIAS
Mike Walsh, Head of Music Radio X

The following acts are performing live at the RTÉ Choice Music Prize event in Vicar St:

All Tvvins | Bantum | Wallis Bird | The Divine Comedy | Lisa Hannigan | Katie Kim | Overhead, The Albatross | Rusangano Family and We Cut Corners.

Only a handful of tickets for the RTÉ Choice Music Prize live event remain at Ticketmaster outlets and at priced €26.50 including booking fee.

The Irish Album of the Year 2016 shortlist can be listened to in full on the RTÉ Choice Music Prize website www.choicemusicprize.ieand on